California Child Molestation Defense Attorneys for the LGBT Community

At Pride Legal, we are dedicated to helping you find an attorney who is the best fit for your legal concerns.

Get Your Free Consultation Today!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

California LGBT Child Molestation Defense Attorneys | Pride LegalLegal Definition of Child Molestation in California

The Department of Justice defines child molestation as “contacts or interactions such as inappropriate physical contact between a child and adult where the child is used for the sexual stimulation of the perpetrator”. Child molestation is a very serious crime and often comes with a lifetime of stigma and a potential lifetime in prison. If you have been charged with child molestation, it is imperative to contact a child molestation defense attorney. Pride Legal’s network of LGBT and LGBT-friendly Child Molestation Defense Attorneys are experienced in protecting the rights of the accused.

Pride Legal’s attorneys have a successful track record in defending child molestation cases. If you have been charged with child molestation, contact one of Pride Legal’s LGBT and LGBT-friendly Child Molestation Defense Attorneys. Your initial consultation is free.

Elements of Child Molestation in California

Under California Penal Code 288, child molestation occurs when the following elements are present:

  1. The defendant engaged in conduct directed at a child
  2. A normal person, without hesitation, would have been disturbed, irritated, offended, or injured by the defendant’s conduct
  3. The defendant’s conduct was motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in the child
  4. AND the child was under the age of 18 when the conduct occurred.

Potential Penalties of Child Molestation

Child molestation penalties vary based on factors such as the age of the child, the use of force or threats, and if the sexual activity was continuous. If

  1. The child was under 14, but no force was used
  • 3, 6, or 8 years in a state prison
  • Maximum fine of $10,000
  1.  The child was under 14 and force was used
  • 5, 8, or 10 years in a state prison
  • Maximum fine of $10,000
  1.  The child was under 14 and bodily harm was inflicted
  • Up to life in prison
  1. The perpetrator was a habitual sex offender
  • 25 years to life in prison

Know Your Rights About Sex Crimes

  1. There are statutes of limitations for various sex crimes.
  2. Gather as much evidence as possible. Sex crime cases are often based on “he said she said” evidence. Concrete evidence will greatly help you.
  3.  Invoke your 5th amendment rights (don’t speak to authorities until you have a lawyer present).
  4. Although you have rights and should exercise them, do not obstruct police investigations. This will only harm you.
  5. Most importantly, hire an experienced attorney. To protect your rights, hire someone who understands them.

Contact Pride Legal

If you or a loved one has been charged with child molestation or related crimes, we invite you to contact us at Pride Legal for legal counseling or any further questions. To protect your rights, hire someone who understands them.

Pride Legal: Law at Your Command

For a free confidential case consultation call Pride Legal today:

888-789-PRIDE
(7743)