2021 brings new wage laws throughout California. Effective January 1st, 2021, the minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $13.00 per hour. For employers with over 25 employees, the hourly minimum wage will be $14.00. This applies to the state level, while many other counties such as Los Angeles, have a higher minimum wage. Here’s where you can find out the new minimum wage laws throughout California.

Local Minimum Wage Laws

Some cities and municipalities have higher minimum wages than the state level. For example, in the city of Sonoma, the minimum wage increase will be set at $14.00 per hour for employers who have less than 25 employees. For employers with over 25 employees, the minimum wage would be set to $15.00. In Novato, employers with over 100 employees would have a minimum wage of $15.26.

The following minimum wages take effect on January 1st, and would be regardless of employee size:

Belmont – $15.90 an hour

Cupertino – $15.65 an hour

Daly City- $15.00 an hour

El Cerrito – $15.61 an hour

Half Moon Bay – $15.00 an hour

Los Altos – $15.65 an hour

Menlo Park – $15.25 an hour

Oakland – $14.36 an hour

Petaluma – $15.65 an hour

Redwood City – $15.62 an hour

Richmond – $15.21 an hour

San Carlos – $15.24 an hour

San Diego – $14.00 an hour

San Jose – $15.45 an hour

San Mateo – $15.62 an hour

Santa Clara – $15.65 an hour

Santa Rosa – $15.20 an hour

South San Fransisco – $15.24 an hour

Sunnyvale – $16.30 an hour

Some counties and cities do count employees, so the minimum wage would be different in these cities:

Alameda – $15.00

Berkeley – $16.01 + CPI on 7/1

Emeryville – $16.84 + CPI

Fremont – $15.00 + CPI on 7/1 / Less than 25 employees: $13.50, $15.00 after 7/1

Hayward – $15.00 / Less than 25 employees: $14.00

Los Angeles – $15.00 / Less than 25 employees: $14.25, $15.00 after 7/1

Malibu – $15.00 / Less than 25 employees: $14.25, $15.00 after 7/1

Menlo Park – $15.00 + CPI

Milpitas – $15.40 + CPI on 7/1

Mountain View – $16.05 + CPI

Novato – $15.00 / Less than 25 employees: $14.00

Pasadena – $15.00

Redwood City – $15.38 + CPI

San Francisco – $16.07 + CPI

Santa Monica – $15.00 / Less than 25 employees: $14.25, $15.00 after 7/1

Of course, there are still some exceptions to employees. Not all employees are subjected to the minimum wages laws, such as camp workers, interns, volunteers, independent contractors, students that work at their school facility, and outside salespeople. This is due to these people being considered independent contractors, or people who work based on a set number.

 

Contact Pride Legal

If you or a loved one believes that they have not been receiving the minimum wage, we invite you to contact us at Pride Legal for legal counseling or any further questions. To protect your rights, hire someone who understands them.